Vibrating Health Through The Chakras (Part 3 of 3)

Clearing the whirlpools of energetic vibration with movement is what purifies the chakra system. By releasing physical tension, you transform thought patterns or beliefs that hold this tension in place. Even 10 minutes of daily yoga, movement, or some type of contemplative practice increases stress resilience, reduces anxiety, and teaches how to refrain from engaging in the fight/flight/freeze response when triggered.

Vibrating Health Through the Chakras

While yoga is commonly thought of as a practice involving a series of yoga poses on a mat, the benefits of achieving a calm state can be attained through other yoga tools such as breathing practices (pranayama), maintaining a steady focus (dristi), meditation (seated or walking), singing/chanting (yoga of sound), and hand positions or gestures (such as hands together at the heart center known as mudras or yoga of the hands).

Learning about the role of the chakra system helps make you aware of your vibrant health, and divine information that can be awakened at each chakra center, energizing the celestial fire residing in each one of us.

As you explore the energy and journey of the chakra system, also referred to as the rainbow path because of the colors associated with each chakra, you will awaken the wisdom healer within and continue the journey to be and remain whole.

Here’s a recap of each Chakra along with its corresponding Purpose, Mantra and Yoga Pose. If you’re not sure how to put these poses into practice, I encourage you to seek out a Yoga Therapist. Limitless Potentials does offer weekly Yoga Classes and Yoga Integrated Therapy sessions.

Chakra 1: Root, Power Center

Purpose: To feel safe and know you have all the support you need.
Mantra: I Am Safe.
Pose: Tree Pose (Vrksasana)

Chakra 2: Sacral

Purpose: Let your body move, experience vitality and enjoy occupying your own space.
Mantra: I Am Alive.
Pose: Goddess Pose (Deviasana)

Chakra 3: Solar Plexus

Purpose: To let yourself make choices, build resolve, and personal power.
Mantra: I choose. I am enough.
Pose: Boat Pose (Navasana)

Chakra 4: Heart

Purpose: To accept your emotions and your innate goodness, and to receive divine intervention.
Mantra: I Feel.
Post: Camel Pose (Ustrasana)

Chakra 5: Throat

Purpose: To speak truthfully, express your heart, and stand up for justice.
Mantra: I Express.
Pose: Supported Shoulder Stand (Salamba 

Chakra 6: Third Eye

Purpose: To discern truth from non-truth and to assess inner guidance and knowing.
Mantra: I know.
Pose: Easy Pose (Sukhasana)

Chakra 7: Crown

Purpose: To experience profound connection with ultimate reality.
Mantra: I am.
Pose: Corpse Pose (Savasana)

End each practice by resting in what’s called Savasana. Allow your legs to gently fall to the side with feet hip width apart and your arms to relax a few inches beyond the side of your torso, palms facing up. If you have lower back discomfort place a folded blanket or bolster under your knees. Alternately rest on your stomach and support your head on folded arms.

The blog post is part of a 3-part series on Understanding Chakras and how to put them into practice to promote good physical and emotional health. We also offer an accompanying workshop that combines YogaFun™ Nidra (sleep yoga) with a specific Chakra for each month. See below for class times and dates.

Related posts:

YogaFun™ Nidra Chakra Workshops

Dr. Kathy is well known in Jupiter Florida as the “go to expert” for her mindful approach to cognitive behavioral therapy (talk therapy). Combining evidence-based therapies from psychology, neuroscience, mental imagery, nutrition and exercise, her FUN™ program establishes mindbody balance to create immediate shifts in thinking. Dr. Kathy is also a Certified Addiction Professional, Yoga Therapist (C-IAYT), EMDR Practitioner and EMDR Consultant in Training. She is the co-author of Asthma Free in 21 Days and frequently publishes articles related to mental health.


Yoga Nidra Chakra Workshops

The FUN™ Guide to Advance Relaxation. Refresh yourself with rest, mental imagery and learn how to balance your Chakra Energy – in only 1 hour!